The Mirror News

VEC draws council candidates’ ballot paper order

A COMPUTER program developed by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) electronically drew the order in which candidates for the South Gippsland Shire Council local government poll will appear on their respective wards’ ballot papers.

A total of 24 candidates have nominated in the South Gippsland Shire general election to contest nine councillor positions.

The VEC announced the names of all the candidates following the ballot draw, which was conducted on Nomination Day, Tuesday September 21, 2021 after the nomination period closed at 12 noon the same day.

Three councillors representing each of the municipality’s three wards; Coastal/Promontory, Tarwin Valley, and Strzelecki, will elected by postal ballot by Election Day, Saturday October 23, 2021.

Voting closes at 6 pm on Friday October 22, and the VEC will declare the results of the election by, if not before, Friday November 5, 2021.

Following are the names of the 24 candidates who are seeking election to the South Gippsland Shire Council in ballot draw and paper order as published on the VEC website on Nomination Day.

Coastal/Promontory Ward candidates

  • Scott Rae, Foster North
  • Mohya Davies, Foster
  • David Liebelt, Venus Bay
  • Anda Banikos, Fish Creek
  • Mat Morgan, Foster
  • Sue Plowright, Toora
  • Sarah Gilligan, Venus Bay

Tarwin Valley Ward candidates

  • Jeremy Curtis, Berrys Creek
  • Lindsay Love, Leongatha
  • Andrew Corcoran, Mirboo North
  • Adrian Darakai, Leongatha
  • Rosemary Cousin, Allambee South
  • John Schelling, Leongatha
  • Nicole Edwards-Galal, Leongatha
  • Clare Williams, Leongatha
  • Don Hill, Mirboo North
  • Leslie Harmer, Mirboo North


  • David Amor, Korumburra
  • Jim Forbes, Poowong
  • Michael Felton, Nyora
  • Frank Hirst, Ranceby
  • Andrew McEwen, Meeniyan
  • Nathan Hersey, Loch
  • Jenni Keerie, Korumburra

Candidate statements and responses to a questionnaire about their backgrounds, as supplied to the VEC by each candidate when they nominated, are available online at

The election will be conducted entirely by post, and the VEC will be mailing ballot packs to enrolled voters between Tuesday and Thursday, October 5 and 7.

All voters who were correctly enrolled for the South Gippsland Shire Council election by 4 pm on Friday August 27 should start to receive their ballot packs from Thursday October 7.

Each pack will contain a ballot paper attached to statements and photographs lodged by the candidates in the voter’s ward, together with a ballot paper envelope with a flap, and a reply-paid envelope.

Voters must complete and return their ballot packs as soon as possible using the reply-paid envelope provided.

Voters can also hand deliver their completed ballot material to the South Gippsland Shire Council election office at 37 Bair Street in Leongatha between 9 am and 5 pm on weekdays until Wednesday October 20.

The election office will be open for extended hours on the last two days of the voting period, including from 9 am to 8 pm on Thursday October 21, and from 9 am until 6 pm on Friday October 22, when voting in the election formally closes.

Victorian Electoral Commissioner Warwick Gately advised voters to vote well ahead of the closing time.

“Make sure you post or hand deliver your completed ballot paper by the deadline,” Mr Gately said.

“Check your local mail clearance times – it may be earlier than 6 pm, or earlier in the week,” he said.

“You can research your local candidates ahead of time at to help you make an informed vote and promptly complete and return your ballot material.”

For more information on the South Gippsland Shire Council general election see


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.