The Mirror News

Travis Manne wins AFNL’s b&f

FISH Creek ruckman, 27 year old  Travis Manne has won the Alberton Football Netball League’s 2012 senior best and fairest award when votes were counted at Inverloch last Saturday night.

Travis was a late starter at football, only starting to play in the under 18s at Leongatha when he was 17 years of age.

After one season there he moved to Fish Creek in 2004 and has played with the Kangas ever since.

Before playing football, Travis was very keen on basketball, coming through the junior age groups at Foster as a very talented player.

In accepting his award, which includes the Peter Moore medal, he thanked all his team-mates, coach Marshall Livingstone and everyone at the Fish Creek Football Netball Club.

He said it was bitter – sweet after his side had lost the preliminary final that day to Dalyston, saying that he would give his award back if he could play in next week’s grand final.

Kilcunda Bass’ Ryan Fitzgerald got away to a great start with 10 votes in the first five rounds, followed by Yarram’s Chris Bruns nine, and one of the favourites Lance Oswald seven, followed by Travis, MDU’s Matthew Doyle and Tarwin’s Travis Cameron on six.

In rounds six to 10 Chris Bruns took the lead with 14 votes, followed by Fitzgerald on 12, Manne 11, Oswald 10, and Travis Cameron, IK’s Dylan Clark and MDU’s Doyle on nine each.

Fitzgerald had taken the lead again after round 15 with 18 votes, while Manne was coming second with 17, Bruns 14, while Yarram’s Chris Pettitt, Foster’s Nathan Grylls, Kilcunda Bass’ Steve O’Bryan and MDU’s Joel Sinclair had all moved to 13 and were making a charge up the leader board.

It was getting very tight at the top of the leader board and with one round to go Kilcunda Bass pair Fitzgerald and O’Bryan were three votes off the pace but with the bye in the last round their count was over.

19 year old Joel Sinclair had moved to 20 votes but with the last game of the round between Inverloch-Kongwak and Fish Creek left to last, Travis Manne received two votes to take the lead and the award with 21 votes.

He was a popular winner and has been one of the premier ruckman in the competition for a number of years.

It was another great performance by young MDU onballer Joel Sinclair who has played every minute of every game this season and with the ability to never stop running, he obviously stood out in front of the umpires.

A bright future lies ahead for Joel.

Korumburra-Bena reserves coach James Kyle took out the reserves best and fairest with 23 votes, while Eli Richards of  Phillip Island won the thirds with 28 votes.

Goal kicking awards were handed out on the night, while Thomas Wyatt from Korumburra-Bena won the Rising Star award.

The 2012 team of the year was also named with Dalyston’s Paul Brosnan named as coach.

The most disciplined club was awarded to Korumburra-Bena.

The Inverloch Football Netball Club catered for the night and did a great job, while AFNL’s secretary/treasurer Lynn Whelan did a great job with the power point displays of all the voting.

All that is ahead is this Saturday’s grand final at Foster between Kilcunda Bass and Dalyston in what should be a great senior grand final.

There will be plenty of football and netball action starting from 9.00 a.m.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.