The Mirror News

Transition group heads for project grants

CORNER Inlet Transition group has incorporated in order to apply for grants in its own right to carry out practical projects to help local communities become more informed and empowered about various aspects of sustainable living.

Now officially named ‘Transition Corner Inlet District’, the group’s members at last Thursday’s meeting at Foster Community Health Centre elected an executive committee comprising President Rob Windt, Vice President Peter Burgess, Secretary Lloyd Morcom and Treasurer Ernie Cayzer.

Peter will also take on the role of web site manager.

At this stage there will not be general committee members, however ordinary members will take on tasks they are interested in covering for projects, lobbying and education about sustainable food and energy production, transport, land care, health and the like.

Membership was set at $20 per member (or family) per year and new members from Welshpool to Walkerville and beyond are warmly invited to join!

Please contact Lloyd on 0427 331 068 or email [email protected] if you are interested.

Keep an eye on for events and information too.

The group decided to bank with the Toora Community Bank Branch of Bendigo Bank because of members’ appreciation of the bank’s commitment to local economic sustainability via support of local community organisations and the consequential ripple of benefits generated across the district.

Establishment of a community orchard and food garden at the proposed Foster Station Park by the rail trail was chosen as a prime project to tackle.

Discussion followed about collaboration with other community organisations generally and in relation to development of the former station precinct in particular.

An explanation of the interacting roles and activities of Foster Community Association and Corner Inlet Men’s Shed in the precinct’s development was assisted by the presence of FCA President Larry Giddy and Friends of Foster Station sub-committee members (and Men’s Shed members) Jeff Montague and Ernie Cayzer.

Juneen Schulz and other members of Manna Community Garden in Foster also added comments to the discussion.

Developments with the Energy Innovation Cooperative (Bass Coast and South Gippsland areas) and Mirboo North’s Transition group were noted, and attendance on behalf the group at a Gippsland information session on the Climate Communities Grants program was sorted out.

South Gippsland Shire’s Sustainability Planner Christine Hamilton also attended the meeting and invited members to participate in the Sustainability Strategy Action Workshop on Wednesday July 21, as well as in the proposed South Gippsland Sustainability Alliance and Council’s Community Engagement Conference on June 27.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.