The Mirror News

The Tea Cosy theme of Celebrations and Celebrities gives Fish Creek a festival to celebrate!

THE 2024 Tea Cosy Festival officially opened on Saturday, May 18 with nearly two thousand visitors flocking to see the marvellous and beautiful creations over the weekend.  

196 cosy entries were received with entries coming from local creators, as well as all over Australia and even from the UK.  Designs reflected a wide range of talents with and craft mediums from beautiful tradition knitted and crocheted cosies to steampunk, recycled materials, ceramics and more.

The childrens and school students section, always a crowd favourite, showed the talents of the budding future designers and entrants.

On Friday night, sponsors were treated to an early preview and announcement of the winners and Highly Commended entries.  Judge Sarah Parkes, herself a renown textile artist, explained how she arrived at each decision, noting it was an extremely difficult task!  Major Sponsors Gill Nicoll (Bendigo Bank), Cr Scott Rae (SGSC) and Neil Travers (Destination Gippsland) all spoke enthusiastically of the efforts of the Fish Creek township to celebrate the tea cosy and make the Festival a much known and loved biennial destination.  All congratulated the many volunteers that make these events possible, and Cr Rae also mentioned that South Gippsland enjoys a much higher rate of volunteering than the State average in an emphatic thanks to all volunteers.

Marge Arnup, Festival Leader, thanked the major Sponsors and also acknowledged the generous contributions of the Fish Creek businesses which made the prizes possible.

On Saturday night pub-goers were treated to great Jazz from “the Purlers”, and on Sunday visitors enjoyed workshops with local artists, as well as the stunning Devonshire Teas provided by local community groups.  

The Festival continues until Sunday, May 26th.  The Exhibition is open daily 10am – 4pm and other events taking place each day.  See for all program details.


Wren AnsworthPreSchool Section Winner
Elliot HoodPreSchool Section  Honourable Mention
Bodhi ProsserChildren’s Primary Section Winner
Audrey LangChildren’s Primary Section Honourable Mention
Ellie WesterveldChildren’s Secondary SectionWinner
April SchulzChildren’s Secondary SectionHonourable Mention
Dorothy SmithTraditional Open CategoryWinner
Laney LavertyTraditional Open CategoryHonourable Mention
Sally & Grace SchnackenberD-Cosy SectionWinner
Jenny WilliamsD-Cosy SectionHonourable Mention
John ReynoldsCelebrations & CelebritiesWinner
Megan MacalpineCelebrations & CelebritiesHonourable Mention
Julie WallaceExuberant Whimsy OpenWinner
John ReynoldsExuberant Whimsy OpenHonourable Mention
Tracey Fairfoot-FeeneyRecycled SectionWinner
Janice HunterRecycled SectionHonourable Mention
Lisa HockingDenman’s CollectiveWinner


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.