The Mirror News

Russell Broadbent MP returned in Monash

LIBERAL Party Member of the House of Representatives Russell Broadbent was returned to his newly re-named seat of Monash following the federal election on Saturday May 18, 2019, winning easily despite a swing of 0.15 per cent towards the ALP’s Jessica O’Donnell.

According to the Australian Electoral Commission’s Tally Room website, with almost 80 per cent of the vote counted as at 5.08 pm on Sunday, Mr Broadbent received 49,125 votes or 57.36 per cent after preferences were distributed.

Under the same two candidate preferred vote or TCP, Ms O’Donnell attracted 36,512 votes or 42.64 per cent, in comparison to the previous federal election in July 2016 when the ALP scored 42.49 percent of the TCP in what was then known as the Division of McMillan.

Out of a total of 89,562 votes cast at a total of 86 polling places throughout the Monash electorate, 85,637 votes or 95.62 per cent were formal representing a 0.91 per cent improvement, with 3,925 votes or 4.38 per cent informal and therefore disregarded.

Under first preference or primary voting, Mr Broadbent received 39,883 votes or 46.57 per cent, with Ms O’Donnell on 25,578 votes or 29.87 per cent.

In third place was Pauline Hanson’s One Nation candidate Jeff Waddell, with 6,362 votes or 7.43 per cent.

Fourth was the Greens (VIC)’s William Hornstra on 5,653 votes or 6.6 per cent and a swing of 3.50 per cent against, followed by the United Australia Party’s Matthew Sherry with 3,393 votes or 3.96 per cent.

Independent Michael Fozard was sixth in the primary voting, with 2,497 votes or 2.92 per cent, followed by the other Independent candidate John Verhoeven seventh with 2.271 votes or 2.65 per cent.

Mr Broadbent is one of the longest-serving current members of parliament, since winning his first federal seat in the Division of Corinella in 1990.

After losing Corinella to Labor’s Alan Griffin in 1993, he went on to topple Labor man Barry Cunningham in McMillan in 1996, before being defeated himself in 1998 by Labor’s Christian Zahra.

Mr Broadbent successfully contested McMillan again in 2004, before being re-elected in 2004 and holding the seat ever since.

He supported changing the name of his electorate to Monash in honour of Sir John Monash, civil engineer and a celebrated Australian Allied military commander during World War I.

“Thank you to the people of Monash,” Mr. Broadbent wrote on his Facebook page after his win became clear.

“It is a real honour to be elected as the inaugural Member for Monash.

“With Monash now covering from Hedley to the Koo Wee Rup swamp and Mount Baw Baw to Wilsons Promontory, I look forward to meeting and working with constituents, old and new, and helping to deliver positive outcomes for our communities and making our region an even better place,” he wrote.“Thank you, Monash”.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.