The Mirror News

New Deputy Mayor

COUNCILLOR Mimmie Jackson was elected without opposition or debate as South Gippsland Shire Council’s new Deputy Mayor at a short special meeting held just prior last Wednesday’s Ordinary Council meeting.

She will hold the position until the end of the current Council term in November.

Her election fills the vacancy left after Cr Kieran Kennedy resigned from the job over Council’s majority decision to transfer budgeted funds from Councillor Discretionary Funds to the Community Grants Fund.

Mayor Cr Jim Fawcett acknowledged Cr Kennedy’s contribution as South Gippsland’s inaugural Deputy Mayor as being “very able, capable and cooperative” and “demonstrated that the role was of real use in assisting the Mayor.”

Outside the meeting, Cr Fawcett explained that the Deputy Mayor was an “effective sounding board on matters that are quite rightly the province of the Mayor as the bridge between councillors and operational side of council”.

He added that the Deputy was supportive to the Mayor in many ways and was also the nominal head of Council in the Mayor’s absence but was not a formal “second-in-charge”.

Cr Jackson lives in Leongatha, is a Tarwin Valley Ward representative, and is a Councillor representative on Gippsland Regional Waste Management Group, the Education Steering Committee, South Gippsland Youth Council, SG SPLASH Advisory Committee and Leongatha Memorial Hall Advisory Committee.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.