The Mirror News

Mark Bradley wins 2nd best and fairest

KORUMBURRA-Bena ruckman Mark Bradley has won his second Alberton Football Netball League best and fairest award when votes were counted on Sunday afternoon at the Wonthaggi Town Hall.

The 34-year old polled in 10 matches, being award best on ground in eight of those matches which is a fine effort. Mark also won the cavorted Peter Moore medal back in 2006 where he polled 32 votes to win from Yarram’s Griffin Underwood on 25.

Mark returned to Korumburra-Bena this season after playing in the Gippsland Latrobe League last year. He thanked everyone at the club and all the players for his great year and said he was really looking forward to the clash next Saturday with Kiclunda Bass in the grand final. He also thanked the umpires for awarding him so many votes.

Yarram’s Chis Bruns jumped out of the blocks early in the poll and led with 11 votes after five rounds from Foster coach Shem Hawking and Phillip Island’s James Taylor on eight with Kilcunda Bass pair Ben Law and Ryan Fitzgerald and Phillip Island’s Shane Murdoch on seven each.

Bruns continued to poll well and still led after 10 rounds with 17, but Bradley had started to make his move and was second with 14 votes, followed by James Taylor of Phillip Island and IK’s Dylan Clark on 13 with Hawking and Law moving two 12.

Phillip Island’s Taylor took the lead after round 15 with 22 votes, but Bradley was only two behind on 20 with Fitzgerald 19, and then Law, Bruns and a late rally from James Ross from Dalyston also on 17.

Foster’s Hawking and Dalyston’s Brad Fisher had moved to 15.

Conspicuous by their absence in the voting was one of the favourites Griffin Underwood from Yarram, Robert Eddy from Stony Creek and Korumburra-Bena’s Jay Neagle.

As the count came to a conclusion Mark Bradley, 26 votes, was able to hold on by two votes to Phillip Island’s James Taylor 24 from Kilcunda Bass pair Ryan Fitzgerald and Chris Endres, and Foster’s Shem Hawking on 20, Yarram’s Chris Bruns who missed a number of games late in the season on 18 with Kilcunda Bass ruckman Ben Law 18, followed by Dalyston’s James Ross and Brad Fisher on 17 and Toora’s Matthew Harris 17.

In the other awards, MDU’s thirds player Samual Wilson 27 votes beat Foster’s Trent Hamilton 25 in a close count, while 23 year old Dylan Muir from Korumburra-Bena won the reserves best and fairest.

Tarwin’s Luke Thwaites took out the Rising Star award from a very talented field of nominees.

The Dalyston football club catered for the luncheon and did a fantastic job, while league secretary/treasurer Lyn Whelan did a good job with the power point presentation of all the voting.

The conclusion of the 2013 season sees the grand finals being played at Wonthaggi this Saturday with Korumburra-Bena Football Club having all four teams participating on the day.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.