The Mirror News

Local Ralph Gallagher appointed to Rating Strategy Committee

Ralph Gallagher

SOUTH Gippsland Shire Council appointed members to the Rating Strategy Committee at its Ordinary Meeting on Wednesday October 25.

The committee will focus on reviewing the rating principles and differentials with consideration of the current review of the Local Government Act.

Foster resident Ralph Gallagher was one of the successful applicants.

“It’s terrific to have the opportunity to contribute,” he said.

Ralph has extensive professional experience built on an understanding of negotiation and conciliation across areas of equity, personal development and major budget responsibilities.

He has an understanding of the present rating system insofar as it is laid out in public documents.

“I am interested in opportunities to continue to voluntarily contribute to my home Shire,” Ralph said.

“This review will consider one of the critical issues of the Shire’s provenance and as a member of an undoubted diverse group will engage many skills and professional expertise to assist the elected representatives and consequently the Shire.”

The other Committee members were determined as follows;

Frances O’Brien QC (independent non-voting chairperson), Dr. Murray Hooper, Barry Gilbert, David Lewis, Vincent Morfuni, Gordon Vagg, Councillor Don Hill, Councillor Maxine Kiel and Councillor Alyson Skinner.

All selected committee members have an extensive amount of experience in a range of fields that will complement the tasks required of the Committee.

South Gippsland Shire Mayor Councillor Ray Argento welcomed the new committee members.

“I would just like to thank everyone who nominated to be part of the Rating Strategy Committee.

We received a number of applications that were all at a very high standard.

“This made selection difficult however it certainly was a competitive process which ensured the best committee members were selected to represent the community.

“We look forward to seeing the recommendations of the Rating Strategy Committee and learning new ways we can work in this area,” said the Mayor.

Community members will be given the opportunity to comment on the findings from the Rating Strategy Committee once they have been developed.

The committee represent a cross section of ratepayer categories including: Residential, Farm/Rural, Vacant, Land, Commercial and Industrial, along with representative groups such as the Victorian Farmers Federation, Chamber of Commerce and Industry, not for profit organisations, tourism association and environmental groups.

Ralph Gallagher will not be representing any one ratepayer group.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.