The Mirror News

Ethan and Jesse share top award

• Senior Best and fairest winners Ethan Park from Fish Creek, Ebony Best from MDU and Jesse Manton from Toora.

– Life membership to Ralph Hubbert

THE Alberton Football Netball League held their  vote count and presentation night last Saturday night at the Toora Hall with the Toora Football Netball Club hosting the evening.

Director of Football Operations Neil Park was MC for the evening and the league’s co-ordinator Lynn Whelan organised the power point presentation which again made following all the counts very enjoyable.  The night commenced with the C grade netball vote count and Lauren Wightman of MDU won with 41 votes from Tarwin’s Marianne Bloye on 21.

B grade netball was up next with Carla Jenkins of Toora winning on 28 votes from team-mate Emily Grylls on 21.

A very excited Aaron Ireland of Fish Creek tied for the reserves football top award on 20 votes with Stony Creek’s Liam Harrington.

Next, the reserves goal kicking award went to Stony Creek’s Brandon Nolan.

A grade netball’s top award was won by MDU coach Ebony Best on 21 votes from Toora’s Hannah Weston and Fish Creek’s Molly Edwards both on 20.

Ebony shot away to an early lead but did not play the last four games of the season due to a serious car accident.  She was able to hold on to the win by one vote in an exciting finish to the count.

Next the netball team of the year was announced with a top line up of players from all the league.

After a great meal provided by the Toora club, the senior vote count commenced.

It took a while before the main players got into stride and after six rounds Tarwin’s Troy Toussaint and Stony Creek’s Sam Marriott led with eight votes, followed by Toora’s Ben Osborne on seven. There were a number of players on six and five votes.

Toora’s Jesse Manton and Fish Creek’s Ethan Park started to make their runs in the next six rounds with Manton on 13, Park on 12, followed by Stony Creek’s Darcy Atkins and Toora’s Jack Weston on 11. Fish Creek’s Bailey Harfield-Park had moved to nine.
With one round to go Ethan Park led the count with 20 votes, followed by Manton on 18 and Toora’s Jack Weston on 15.

Park failed to poll in the last round and Manton polled two votes to move to 20 also and the Peter Moore Medal was awarded to both players.

They both also received trophies provided by the family of the late Ron Tibballs.

Both players thanked their clubs and team-mates for the season.

Ethan’s brother Cal won the top award last year and his father Neil won the award back in 1981.

Ethan is a classy on-baller who spent time at Gippsland Power during his development.

Jesse who oozes class hails from Western Australia and he played for Swan Districts in the WAFL before moving to South Gippsland and playing for Toora.

Next up the team of the year was announced.


League president Barry Stride had the honour to bestow a life membership to Ralph Hubbert who has been an integral part of not only the AFNL as it is now but also the old Alberton Football League. Ralph has served the league for many years and is certainly a worthy recipient of the award.  He received a standing ovation from the crowd!  There was a touching moment as Ralph shed a tear when being presented with his award.


This Saturday sees the culmination of the season with the grand finals being played at Meeniyan.


AFL Gippsland’s review will be announced this Friday night with all clubs receiving notification of meeting places and times.  At least after that everyone will know what the future holds.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.