The Mirror News

Darcy and Kelsey take out top honours

– Alberton Football Netball League night of nights!

It was a big day for not only the Alberton Football Netball League but also the Foster Football Netball Club who catered for the preliminary finals and then had to back up with the awards night in the evening. 

STONY CREEK midfielder. 23-year-old Darcy Atkins took out the AFNL senior best and fairest award and Foster A grade netball coach Kelsey Angwin won the A grade best and fairest at last Saturday night’s presentation evening held at the Foster Football Club Social rooms.

With a good crowd paying nearly $9,000 at the gate, Stony Creek defeated Fish Creek to move into next week’s grand final at Tarwin.

The presentation night commenced with the C grade netball best and fairest going to Samantha Williams of Tarwin who was unfortunately not present on the night. Toora’s Coby Elmore was runner-up.

Next up was the B grade netball with Toora’s Shannon Leggett and Fish Creek’s Jasmine Manne tying on 16 votes, with Fish Creek’s Katie Hamilton runner-up on 15 votes.

In a tight reserves vote count, Foster’s Jake Chaseling took out the “Chris Tudor Memorial trophy”  with 11 votes, closely followed by Stony Creek’s Tom Gordon, Fish Creek’s Blake Stefani, Foster team-mate Trent Hamilton and Tarwin veteran Travis Cameron all on nine votes.

Team of the Year recipients were next on stage with both the cream of the crop of football and netball has to offer.

Up next was the voting in the A grade netball with Foster defender Kelsey Angwin polling 20 votes winning by three votes from Stony Creek’s Jade Cashin on 17, then Toora’s Carla Jenkins 16 and Foster’s Jeanette Bath also 16.

Kelsey’s mother Yvonne Angwin is a multiple winner in past seasons, so the tradition continues.

The senior football vote count followed with Foster ruckman James Cook leading after five rounds on seven votes, from MDU’s Tom Corry and the eventual winner Darcy Atkins on six. Foster’s Matthew Clark and Tarwin’s Anthony Carroll were next on five.

At the end of round 10 Atkins had shot away with 16 votes, leading Foster’s Mathew Wilson who was polling very well on 12, Cook had moved to 11, followed by Corry nine, and Toora’s Josh Griffin on eight.

With one round to go Atkins was out in front on 20 votes, followed by three players, Foster team-mates James Cook and Mathew “Cyril” Wilson and MDU’s Tom Corry all on 15.

None of the leaders polled in the final round of matches with the Stony Creek star midfielder a five vote winner on 20 votes to win the Peter Moore medal and Ron Tibballs Memorial trophy.

Darcy thanked his parents who travel up each week to watch him play, everyone at the Stony Creek Football Netball Club and had a big thank you to his captain Dylan Zuidema.

Darcy previously played at the Allies before they disbanded and before that in the Peninsula League with Devon Meadows.

He is eagerly looking forward to playing in this week’s grand final against Foster. No doubt the Tigers will have their hands full!

Tarwin Football Netball Club were named the most disciplined club and league co-ordinator Lynn Whelan was thanked for all the work she put in to running the night.

All that is left now is for next week’s grand finals at Tarwin, with Foster having all three teams playing, (something that has not happened since back in 1980 when Foster also played Stony Creek in all three matches) Stony Creek two and MDU thirds as well as six games of great netball.What lies ahead for 2020 is anyone’s guess, with some saying it will be business as usual as a six team competition next year, even though Stony Creek have been accepted into the Mid Gippsland FNL next season. They need approval from AFL Gippsland and the AFNL for this to proceed, which The Mirror believes is not likely


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.