The Mirror News

Back to back B&F’s for Foster’s Shaun Everington

FOSTER footballer Shaun Everington won the 2011 Alberton Football League senior best and fairest award and Peter Moore medal for the second year running when votes were counted at the AFL’s presentation dinner at the Buffalo Hall on Saturday night.

The classy onballer polled 24 votes to pip MDU rover Tremaine Tohiariki by one vote in a very exciting count.

Tremaine got away to an early lead and after five rounds was out in front with eight votes, followed by Ryan Fitzgerald from Kilcunda Bass, Yarram’s James Parry, Fish Creek’s Jason Rouda and Stony Creek’s Cameron Stone on six votes each.

By the end of round 10 Tremaine had moved to 14 with Foster’s Everington starting to make his move with 11, followed by Parry, Fitzpatrick and Fish Creel’s Travis Manne all on 10. Kilcunda Bass century goal kicker Luke James had moved to eight.

Yarram’s Chris Bruns had made his move by the end of round 15 to be on 18 votes, one vote behind Tohiariki on 19, with Everington and Parry both on 14 and another Yarram player in Lukas Jenkins on 13. Inverloch-Kongwak’s Dylan Clark had moved to 12 while Kilcunda Bass coach Steve O’Bryan Brenton and Ryan Fitzgerald and Luke James were on 11.

With one round to go there was still four players in the running with Everington joining Tohiariki on 21 votes and Yarram pair Bruns and Jenkins both on 18 still in with a show.

In the final round of matches, Tohiariki polled two votes against Stony Creek to take the lead with the final match of the round between Dalyston and Foster to be read out. Polling three votes in a best on ground performance, Shaun moved to 24 votes, one ahead of Tremaine to win his second Alberton League best and fairest award.

Shaun is the league’s premier onballer who leads by example each week. He usually gets very heavily tagged each week which is a testament to his endurance and fitness that he can keep going week in week out.

In his acceptance speech Shaun said he was surprised to win the award again, and thanked all his team-mates at Foster for their support and all the coaching staff led by Dean Duursma.

He said he was looking forward to next week’s grand final and hoped that the Tigers could also make it back to back next week in the big match.


Fish Creek’s Mathew Van Boven won the reserves best and fairest award with 21 votes, outscoring Tarwin’s Vaughan Van Dillen and Dalyston’s Andrew Wallis on 18 votes.

Korumburra-Bena youngster Paul Pattison took out the thirds award with 25 votes.

Goal kicking awards were awarded to Kilcunda-Bass’ Luke James, (who was absent) in the seniors, Leigh Wilkinson (Dalyston), Michael Green (Foster) thirds and Fish Creek youngster Jake Buckland in the fourths.

Callen Park from Fish Creek won the Rising Star award from five nominees. He has a very bright future in front of him, as do all the players nominated.


Two life membership were presented to Mike Richards, Tarwin  and Phil Vicino from Devon with both recipients very humble in accepting their awards. They have both been associated with the Alberton League for many, many years.


In a first for the Alberton League, a team of the year was selected from all clubs, which was warmly received by all. Maybe a little fine tuning might be needed in the future, but overall the concept is a great idea. The team is listed inside.

The Fish Creek Football Club catered for the evening and the meal and service was first class with club president Neil Park MC for the night.

The Power Point presentation of the voting was capably managed by league secretary/treasurer Lynn Whelan.

The season concludes this Saturday at Inverloch with Kilcunda Bass going for their first premiership in 30 years, while Foster are attempting to win back to back premierships for the first time ever.

If the weather is kind, it should be a fascinating end to a very exciting season.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.