The Mirror News

Alberton FNL juniors honoured

THE Alberton Football Netball League held their presentation wind-up last Wednesday evening at the Tarwin Football Club.

League President John Schelling welcomed everyone and said it is great that the league can how have a separate night to honour the up and coming players in both football and netball.

Votes were already counted up until round nine then the rest of the season’s games were read out.

In the 15 & under netball Foster’s Jayde McGlead won with 37 votes from Toora’s Elli Clavarino and MDU’s Kayla Redpath on 22.

The fourths football count followed with Foster’s Xavier Duursma winning with 26 votes from Phillip Island’s Max Mattock on 23 and MDU’s Brett Thorson 22.

Sam Flanders of Fish Creek was awarded the fourths goal kicking award with 70 goals and Dalyston’s Darcy Brosnan was presented the thirds award with 52 goals.

The Rising Stars were all presented to the crowd with Amy Robertson of Tarwin winning the netball award and Cameron Trewin of Korumburra-Bena the football award.

There are certainly a lot of talented youngsters coming through the ranks.

Next up was the 17 & under netball count with Alana McRae of Dalyston winning with 36 votes from Foster’s Keighly Starrett on 30.

There was a tie in the thirds award with Dalyston team-mates Michael Marotta and Darcy Brosnan both receiving 22 votes to share the award.

League secretary/Treasurer conducted the power point display while the league delegates all took turns at reading out the vote cards.

It was a very successful and well run evening.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.