The Mirror News

AFNL night of nights

THE Alberton Football Netball League held their vote counting and presentation night last Saturday at the Dumbalk Hall following the preliminary finals being played at Inverloch during the day.

There was a good crowd in attendance, but unfortunately some of the main winners were not present for some reason or another.

It was very disappointing that players, and clubs do not make a effort to be part of one of the league’s main events.

Favourite Chris Endres from Kilcunda Bass took out the senior football award with 25 votes from Dalyston’s Brad Fisher. Neither of these two were present.

It was a close count all night with Ryan Fitzgerald from Kilcunda Bass leading on eight votes after five rounds, followed by Ben Fitzpatrick from Korumburra-Bena and Dalyston duo Fisher and Hamish Dick on seven votes.

Fisher took over the lead after round 10 with 12 votes followed by Stony Creek’s Luke Bowman and Fitzgerald on 12 each, with Fitzpatrick and Tarwin’s Brenton Byrnes on 11. Endres started his move also with 11 votes.

After round 15 Endres (20) had a one vote lead over Fisher (19) with Bowman now on 15 and Fitzgerald 14 and Phillip Island’s James Taylor also on 14.

From then on Endres picked up another five votes to hold onto the lead by three votes after the final match of the year where both he and Fisher polled three votes each in the last home and away game.

Chris is a very classy midfielder who has been near abouts in recent seasons. He is certainly a worthy winner of the Peter Moore Medal, which was presented by Peter’s grand-daughter Sarah Kidd. Peter unfortunately lost his life recently, but the medal will continue in his name in the future.

In the reserves Dalyston’s Dale Brown took out the award with 24 votes from Nathan Milton of Killy Bass on 20. Dale and Nathan were also not in attendance.

The A grade netball best and fairest was shared between Fish Creek’s Kara Wogan-Browne who had previously won the award two years ago. She tied on 27 votes with Dalyston’s Tess Angarane with multiple winner Christie Hillberg runner-up on 23 votes. Kara missed the night also.

Rachael Millar of Inverloch-Kongwak won the B grade award with 24 votes, but unfortunately she was in West Australia at a wedding, so she also was not in attendance. Kelsie Schelling of Stony Creek was runner-up with 21 votes.

Tarwin’s Rachel Cameron won C grade with 22 votes from Taylah Staples of Korumburra-Bena on 21 votes.

Teams of the year were presented in both football and netball, but alas about half of both teams were not present to receive their awards.

Toora were named the most disciplined club for 2014.


A life membership was awarded to Rob Best of Foster for many years service to the Alberton Football Netball League. He played 500 games with the Foster Football Club and has been heavily involved at club level, junior football and the production of the league’s football follower from its inception in the mid 1970s.

He was a very surprised and humble recipient of the award. Former league president and MDU Football Club representative Ed Hanley nominated him for the award.

The Stony Creek Football Netball Club catered for the night and did a very good job.


Saturday sees all roads lead to Meeniyan for the grand final with the fourths kicking off the day at 9.00 a.m. and the 13 & under netball commencing at 9.00 a.m.

It should be a great day’s entertainment with some very exciting matches anticipated.


Comments are disallowed for this post.

Comments are closed.